

OFF-HIGHWAY MOTOR VEHICLE RECREATION DIVISION INFORMATION BULLETIN

Volume 01 April 24, 2009 Number 02

Green/Red Sticker Fee Increased to \$52

The issue

The OHV green/red sticker fee increased from \$50 to \$52 on January 1, 2009. We understand the significance of this increase coming one year after the doubling of the green/red sticker fee from \$25 to \$50 pursuant to SB 742.

What caused the CHP fee to increase \$2?

Senate Bill 1055 was signed into law by Governor Gray Davis on October 8, 2003. This law increased forty-one different Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) fees on January 1, 2004, to: avert a shortfall in the California Highway Patrol (CHP) budget and the Motor Vehicle Account (MVA); adjusted the truck weight fee schedule to a level supported by the trucking industry; and make other budget related changes.

In addition to the original fee increases, the bill directed the DMV to implement future fee increases when the California Consumer Price Index (CCPI), as calculated by the Department of Finance, showed increases in inflation. The CCPI measures inflation by tracking a number of common items purchased by consumers. The increases in the CCPI over the past five years triggered previous \$1 increases on other vehicle code sections, but not until now has it affected the two, \$3 OHV fees given to CHP from OHV identification (registration).

How does this affect Green/Red Sticker fees?

CVC Sections 38225.4¹ and 38225.5² were each raised \$1, from \$3 to \$4, on January 1, 2009, giving the (CHP) a total of \$8 (\$4 + \$4) for every green/red sticker issued by the DMV. Both of these fees are contained in the \$52 collected for green or red stickers for OHV identification (registration). The current breakdown is:

\$33 to OHV Trust Fund (CVC 38225 b)

\$7 to DMV for administration (CVC 38225 a)

\$4 to CHP to maintain the uniformed field strength (CVC 38225.4)

\$4 to CHP to maintain the uniformed field strength (CVC 38225.5)

\$4 to counties for In-lieu Tax (CVC 38238)

\$52 total

What other OHV laws are affected?

Forty-one DMV laws were affected this year by SB 1055, including seven CVC Division 16.5 sections that pertain to off-highway vehicles. All of the sections listed below increased by \$1:

38121 OHV Planned Non-Operation Service Fee
38225.4 CHP service fee to maintain Uniformed Field Strength
38225.5 CHP service fee to maintain Uniformed Field Strength
38232 OHV Transportation Permit
38255 OHV Transfer
38260 OHV Duplicate Ownership
38265 OHV Duplicate Registration

The full version of SB 1055 can be found at: http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/03-04/bill/sen/sb_1051-1100/sb_1055_bill_20031009_chaptered.pdf

The DMV Vehicle Industry News (VIN) 2008-11 details all of the fee increases from SB 1055 and a PDF is attached for your review.

For further information please contact:

Tom Bernardo
State Park Superintendent
CA State Parks, Off-Highway Motor Vehicle Recreation Division
tbern@parks.ca.gov
916-327-5698

¹ **CVC 38225.4**. In addition to the service fees specified in subdivision (a) of Section 38225, as amended by Section 6 of Chapter 964 of the Statutes of 1992, a fee of three dollars (\$3) shall be paid at the time of issuance or renewal of identification of off-highway motor vehicles subject to identification, except as expressly exempted under this division. The department shall deposit the fee received under this section in the Motor Vehicle Account in the State Transportation Fund. The money deposited in the account pursuant to this section shall be available, upon appropriation by the Legislature, for expenditure to offset the costs of maintaining the uniformed field strength of the Department of the California Highway Patrol.

¹ **CVC 38225.5**. In addition to the service fees specified in Section 38225, a fee of three dollars (\$3) shall be paid at the time of issuance or renewal of identification of off-highway vehicles subject to identification, except as expressly exempted under this division. The department shall deposit the fee received under this section in the Motor Vehicle Account in the State Transportation Fund. The money deposited in the account pursuant to this section shall be available, upon appropriation by the Legislature, for expenditure to offset the costs of increasing the uniformed field strength of the Department of the California Highway Patrol beyond its 1994 staffing level and those costs associated with maintaining this new level of uniformed field strength and carrying out those duties specified in subdivision (a) of Section 830.2 of the Penal Code.